Vocational qualifications


An apprenticeship is a way to learn whilst working - building up knowledge and skills, gaining qualifications and earning money at the same time.

Apprentices spend most of their time in the workplace gaining the skills to do a specific job, but they also attend a specialised learning provider to build up knowledge and gain qualifications, often this is a local college.

There are four different levels of apprenticeship:

  • Intermediate Apprenticeship - equivalent to five good GCSE passes
  • Advanced Level Apprenticeships - equivalent of two A level passes
  • Higher Level Apprenticeships can lead to NVQ level 4 and above (or a Foundation Degree)
  • Degree Apprenticeships are a type of higher apprenticeship that can lead to a full undergraduate degree

For more information on the different levels of apprenticeships go to the Qualification planner

There are a number of elements to each apprenticeship and all together they are known as the Framework. The benefit of a Framework is that you will be able to achieve a range of qualifications as you progress towards achieving your apprenticeship.

There are three main strands to each apprenticeship:

  1. A competence based element
  2. A technical element
  3. A skills element

In some cases there may also be additional qualifications available on top of the three elements to ensure that you have the most relevant skills and knowledge required for the job that you are employed in.

Follow this link for more information on apprenticeships