Back to main Careerpilot website

Further Education College

What is a T Level?

What are T Levels?

  • New two year Level 3 qualifications -  equivalent to 3 x A levels
  • Lead to a specific occupation and available in a whole range of different areas from Cyber Security to Wildlife Management.
  • Designed by professional bodies, employers and universities so that they are relevant and up to date.
  • Include at least 3 months work experience and opportunity to build transferable skills and knowledge related to the job area.
  • Progress on to apprenticeships, jobs and university.

Who are they for?

They are for 16 - 19 year olds who want to focus on developing skills and knowledge of a What specific occupation or job sector.  

Which T levels are being offered?

The T levels that are currently available are:

  • Education and Childcare
  • Construction: design, surveying and planning
  • Construction: on site - carpentry, plastering, painting and decorating, bricklaying
  • Digital Production
  • Digital Business Services
  • Digital Support Services
  • Health - Health Care
  • Health Science
  • Science

These T levels are being introduced in 2022:

  • Legal, Finance and Accounting
  • Business and Administration
  • Engineering and Manufacturing

What T Levels will be available in the future?

There are approved T Levels in the following sectors:

  • accountancy
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • animal care and management
  • building services engineering
  • catering
  • craft and design
  • cultural heritage and visitor attractions
  • financial
  • hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • human resources
  • legal
  • maintenance, installation and repair
  • management and administration
  • manufacturing and process
  • media, broadcast and production

T Levels as a route to University

When you look at the entry requirements for a particular university course this can be shown in terms of the grades needed and/or the UCAS tariff points required. T Levels will earn UCAS points just like other Level 3 qualifications like A Levels and BTECs.

You can find out what UCAS tariff points you will get for different qualifications.

More information

Technical Level Qualifications

Find a T Level near you

Parents information from Amazing Apprenticeships

A site for adults wanting to get back into learning

Take a look