What are they?

T levels are full time two year technical vocational qualifications equivalent to A levels for 16- 19 year olds.

These are a mixture of class room based academic learning and practical employer based work experience.

All T levels include:

What subjects can you study?

By 2025 T levels will be available in 25 different job sectors such as agriculture to catering, digital technologies to education.

In 2020 there will be the first three T level subjects available in the following subjects; design surveying and planning [ construction], digital production design and development [IT] and Education. 

To start with these are only being offered by a small range of colleges to trial them. You can check to see which T levels are being offered in your area.

What are the entry requirements?

You will need 5 GCSEs grade 4 - 9 including English and Maths or a level 2 vocational qualification and functional skills qualification at level 2 in English and maths.

How is the course assessed?

By a mixture of different methods from industry projects to exams and industry set tests.

How long will the T level take?

2 years - although you could be taken onto an apprenticeship by the employer the course of your T level qualification.

Options after the course?

You will have the experience to progress onto a higher or degree apprenticeship or to be able to progress on to Higher Education in the job area you have trained in.